15 new breeds of livestock, poultry to get registered

PostedonDec. 21, 2018in Food and Water

Cattle Picture for representational purpose

The Indian Council of Agriculture Research (ICAR) has approved the registration of 15 breeds of livestock and poultry this year, including two types of cattle: Ladakhi from Jammu and Kashmir and Konkan Kapila from Maharashtra and Goa. The announcement was made by Agriculture Minister Radha Mohan Singh on Wednesday.

Three buffalo breeds: Luit (Assam and Manipur), Bargur (Tamil Nadu), Chhattisgarhi (Chhattisgarh); one sheep breed: Panchali (Gujarat); six goat breeds: Kahmi (Gujarat), Rohilkhandi (Uttar Pradesh), Assam Hill (Assam and Meghalaya), Bidri and Nandidurga (Karnataka), Bhakarwali (Jammu & Kashmir), and one breed each of pigs, donkeys and chickens have also been registered this year.

“It’s a matter of happiness that the number of newly registered breeds is increasing year by year. Out of the 55 newly registered breeds since 2010, 40 have been registered during 2014-18 as compared to 15 during 2010-13,” Radha said, after awarding breed registration certificates at an event.

First published by DNA on 13 Dec. 2018

Story Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: